HomeArticles2013 Women's College Squash All-Ivy League Team Announced

2013 Women’s College Squash All-Ivy League Team Announced

Ivy LeaguePrinceton, NJ — The Ivy League announced its 2012-2013 all conference team earlier this spring.

For the second year in a row, Amanda Sobhy of Harvard was named Player of the Year. The Crimson sophomore continued her unbeaten streak; to date, she has dropped a single game in intercollegiate play. Along the way, she collected her second consecutive individual title, defeating Kanzy El Defrawy of Trinity in three games to win the 2013 Ramsay Cup. Sobhy also won the deciding match in Harvard’s 5-4 victory over Trinity to take the 2013 Women’s National Team Championship.

Penn’s Yan Xin Tan was named the Rookie of the Year. Tan reached the semifinals of the 2013 Individual Championships, where she lost to Sobhy. Playing number 1 and 2 for the Quakers, Tan went 14-4 during the season.

Three seniors earned All-Ivy honors: Nabilla Ariffin of Penn, Julie Cerullo of Princeton, and Laura Gemmell of Harvard. Both Cerullo and Gemmell were named to the All-Ivy team for the fourth year in a row; Ariffin earned her third All-Ivy honors. Gemmell, the 2010 and 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year, was a unanimous selection to the team for four straight years.

Player of the Year

  • Amanda Sobhy (Harvard)

Rookie of the Year

  • Yan Xin Tan (Penn)

2013 All-Ivy League Team