2013 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Afternoon Report


College Squash AssociationHartford, CT — This afternoon saw continued opening round action in the men’s and women’s A Divisions and round of 32 play in the  women’s and men’s B Divisions. For updates on this evening’s results, see the live draws.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): After an afternoon of the play, the match-ups for this evening’s round of 16 are set. Amanda Sobhy (Harvard), the defending Ramsay Cup champion, will play Rachael Goh (Penn). Danielle Letourneau (Cornell) will face Nabilla Ariffin (Penn), and Yan Xin Tan (Penn) will play Catalina Pelaez (Trinity), who advanced with a three-game win over Michelle Gemmell (Harvard). Kerrie Sample (Stanford) will play Julie Cerullo (Princeton); Sample and Cerullo advanced with three-game wins over Rachel Leizman (Princeton) and Robyn Hodgson (Trinity), respectively. Kanzy El Defrawy (Trinity), who defeated Anna Porras (George Washington), will play Haley Mendez (Harvard), who bounced Haidi Lala (Penn) from the main draw in three games. Cornell’s Jesse Pacheco won in four over Ashley Tidman (Trinity); Pacheco will face 2010 Ramsay Cup champion Laura Gemmell in the next round. Gemmell defeated Trinity’s Natalie Babjukova to advance. Richey Award winner Pamela Chua (Stanford) defeated Bates’ Nessrine Ariffin in three games and will face Princeton’s Libby Eyre in the next round. Eyre moved on with a win over Penn’s Pia Trikha. The final round-of-16 pairing will be between Yale teammates Shihui Mao and Millie Tomlinson, the 2011 Ramsay Cup winner. In the first round, Mao defeated Nicole Bunyan (Princeton), and Tomlinson defeated Sachika Balvani (Trinity).

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): The following players all posted wins this afternoon to stay in the Holleran Cup main draw: Maggie Remsen (Cornell), Julie Koenig (Stanford), Courtney Jones (Penn), Alex Sawin (Princeton), Lexi Saunders (Princeton), Reyna Pacheco (Columbia), Hallie Dewey (Princeton), Annie Ballaine (Yale), and Julianne Chu (Harvard). Koenig won in four over Sherouk Omar of Mount Holyoke. Also winning in four were Pacheco, who defeated Chloe Blacker of Penn, and Ballaine, who beat Nicole Feshbach of Williams.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): The Pool Trophy round of 16 begins this evening. Neil Cordell (Rochester) will play Ramit Tandon (Columbia). Cordell defeated Trinity’s Miled Zarazua to advance, while Tandon took down Yale’s Zachary Leman. St. Lawrence’s Amr Khalifa won in three over Johan Detter (Trinity) and will play Harvard’s Brandon McLaughlin, who notched his own three-game victory over Dylan Ward (Princeton). Tyler Osborne of Princeton will face 2013 Skillman Award winner Chris Hanson of Dartmouth in the next round. Osborne defeated Trinity’s Karan Malik, and Hanson took out Cornell’s Owen Butler. It took four games for Rochester’s Andres Duany to advance over Trinity’s Vrishab Kotian; it took his round-of-16 opponent, Kenneth Chan of Yale, five games to prevail over Adam Perkiomaki (Rochester). Defending Pool Trophy champion Ali Farag won in three close games over Michael Sunderland (Cornell). Farag will play Princeton’s Sammy Kang, who won in three marathon games over Harvard’s Gary Power. Earlier in the day, 2013 Skillman Award winner and 2011 Pool Trophy champion Todd Harrity (Princeton) advanced; he will face Rochester’s Faraz Khan in the next round. Also advancing were Sam Fenwick (Yale) and Nick Sachvie (Cornell), who will play in the round of 16, and Ahmed Abdel Khalek (Bates) and Gui de Melo (F&M), who will also face each other.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division):  Men’s B Division play will resume tomorrow morning. The following players all advanced this afternoon: Mohamed Abdel Maksoud (Columbia), Noah Browne (Amherst), Robbie Maycock (Dartmouth), Andrew Hilbodlt (Bowdoin), Vivek Dinodia (Princeton), Tommy Mullaney (Harvard), Justin Singh (Drexel), Binura Jayasuriya (Drexel), Andrew McGuinness (Navy), Nick Marks (Williams), Karm Kumar (Rochester), Ibrahim Khan (St. Lawrence), Sebastian Riedelsheimer (St. Lawrence), and Pedro Almeida (F&M). Khan won in five over Drexel’s Ibrahim Bakir, as did Marks over Trinity Moustafa Hamada and Mullaney over F&M’s Alexander Arjoon.