2013 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Morning Report


College Squash AssociationHartford, CT — The 2013 Individual Championships began this morning at Trinity College’s Ferris Athletic Center.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): The first round of Ramsay Cup matches started in the late morning. Harvard’s Amanda Sobhy, the tournament’s top seed, advanced with a 3-0 win over Yale’s Gwen Tilghman. Penn’s Nabilla Ariffin also advanced with a 3-0 win over Corey Schafer of Dartmouth. Penn’s Yan Xin Tan and Cornell’s Danielle Letourneau both moved to the next round with four-game wins; Tan defeated Harvard’s Natasha Kingshott and Letourneau defeated Yale’s Katie Ballaine. One of the closest matches of the morning was between two seniors who have played each other multiple times in their collegiate careers: Cornell’s Jaime Laird and Penn’s Rachael Goh. Goh outlasted Laird in five tight games to win the match.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): Holleran Cup play started at 9 am this morning. The following players won their opening matches: Maggie Remsen (Cornell), Sherouk Omar (Mount Holyoke), Randima Ranaweera (Mount Holyoke), Laura Henry (Williams), Jackie Shea (George Washington), Reyna Pacheco (Columbia), Chloe Mitchell (Bates), Damindhi Udangawa (Drexel), Annie Ballaine (Yale), Michaela Martin (Bowdoin), Nina Scott (Dartmouth), Mina Shakarshy (Brown), Chanel Erasmus (Trinity), Alli Rubin (Williams), Steph Vogel (Penn), and Lindsay Seginson (Cornell). Mitchell, who played Rachel Newman (William Smith), and Shakarshy, who played Mary Foster (Wesleyan), both won their matches in five games.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): Competition for the Pool Trophy got underway in the late morning. Four of the first five matches were decided in three games: top-seeded Todd Harrity of Princeton over Omar Sobhy of George Washington, Faraz Khan of Rochester over Richard Dodd of Yale, Nick Sachvie of Cornell over Mauricio Sendano of Franklin & Marshall, and Gui de Melo of Franklin &Marshall over Neil Martin of Yale. The match between Yale’s Sam Fenwick and Trinity’s Reinhold Hergeth went to four games; Hergeth won the first, 11-9, and Fenwick surged back to win the next three games and the match.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): The morning was busy with the first round of Molloy Cup matches. The following players advanced with first-round wins: Aditya Advani (Tufts), Noah Browne (Amherst), Jay Dolan (Middlebury), Andrew Hilboldt (Bowdoin), Alexander Greer (Dartmouth), Alexander Arjoon (Franklin & Marshall), Justin Singh (Drexel), Binura Jayasuriya (Drexel), Kyle Ogilvy (St. Lawrence), Nick Marks (Williams), Caleb Garza (Connecticut College), Ibrahim Bakir (Drexel), Parker Hurst (Middlebury), John Steele (Wesleyan), Eric Caine (Yale), and Jim Kacergis (Navy). Bakir won in five over Princeton’s Michael LeBlanc, as did Advani over Dartmouth’s Chris Jung.