HomeArticlesTrinity: 2012 - 2013 Men's College Squash Season Preview

Trinity: 2012 – 2013 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Hartford, CT — It’s a new era for Trinity squash. For the first time in over a decade, the Bantams aren’t defending national champions. At the start of the season, they’ll have a 0-0 record to fill in as they may rather than a historic streak to defend. And the good news for Trinity fans is that the team should be getting stronger. After each of the past two seasons, the team has had to reload after graduations depleted their top nine. This time around, only three seniors have graduated, and only two of those players competed in the top nine, albeit at #1 and #2. Three new players will be on the team — Juan Vargas of Colombia, Karan Malik of India, and Zeyad El Shorafy of Egypt — and Trinity alum Chris Binnie will be back as an assistant coach. The trio of new players will be joining a program that is proud of its diversity. “We are a blend of home grown and international players, and it is the melding of cultures and experiences that make our program unique,” explains assistant coach and Trinity grad Andres Vargas. “We are working hard to maintain a tradition of excellence both on and off of the squash courts.”


Season Record: 17-2

Final Ranking: 2

National Team Championships: 2nd in Potter Cup (A Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Paul Assaiante

Returning Players from Team Championships:  3. Miled Zarazua (1st Team All-NESCAC, NESCAC Rookie of the Year, 1st Team All-American); 4. Reinhold Hergeth (2nd Team All-NESCAC); 5. Johan Detter (2nd Team All-NESCAC, All-American Honorable Mention, CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Vrishab Kotian (2nd Team All-NESCAC, Molloy Cup Winner); 7. Juan Flores; 8. Matthew Mackin; 9. Moustafa Hamada; 10. Elroy Leong; 11. Juan Lopez (CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2011-2012 Team Championships: 1. Vikram Malhotra (1st Team All-NESCAC, NESCAC Player of the Year, 1st Team All-American); 2. Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez (1st Team All-NESCAC, 1st Team All-American); Jay Kramer

Additions to the 2012-2013 roster: Juan Vargas, Karan Malik, and Zeyad El Shorafy

Captains: Reinhold Hergeth and Johan Detter

Team Goals: To win the national championship

To read other team previews, please visit the 2012-2013 College Squash Season Previews page.