William Smith: 2010 – 2011 Women’s College Squash Season Preview


Geneva, NY — There will be several new faces on the William Smith team this season.

After winning the Epps Cup at the 2008-2009 Women’s National Team Championships (Howe Cup), the Herons moved back up into the C Division, which they won in 2006 and 2007. This season, the Herons hope to take the Walker Cup back to Geneva, but they’ll be working with a very different lineup.

Four seniors graduated from last year’s team: 2009-2010 captain Emily Hazenberg, who played number 6, and All-Liberty League selections Medora Hartz, Katie Mullen, and Sarah Hallberg, who played 2 through 4, respectively. Julia Steck, who also earned Liberty League honors in her first year of college play, has transferred, so the Herons will be without their number 1 player from last season as well.

Although the Herons have lost a number of players, they will also be getting several additions to the team. Isabella Comstock and Alexa Comstock will be returning from study abroad; Isabella is expected to fill in one of the spots in the top 3, and Alexa is expected to fill in a spot in the top 6. Six first-year players will also join the team — Madeline Friedman, Jessie Hall, Ginny McDermott, Tyler Mitchell, Caroline Moxley, and Virginia Scott — and they should help give the team more depth. In addition to the new players, the Herons will also have a new locker and team room this season.

Else Ross will serve as captain. Ross is also on the Herons’ crew team and contributed to their second-place finish in the 2006 National Rowing Championships and third-place finish in 2007. That experience should be something to draw on as the William Smith  squash team looks to climb the Walker Cup standings.

2009-2010 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 9-10
Final Ranking: 22
Team Championships: 22nd Overall; 6th in Walker Cup (C Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Chip Fishback

Returning Players from Team Championships: Olivia Beckwith (5); Annie Habecker (8); Courtney Leous (7); Katie Riordan (10); Lucia Rowe (9)

Graduates on Last Season’s Team Championships Roster: Sarah Hallberg (4; Liberty League Team); Medora Hartz (2; Liberty League Team); Emily Hazenberg (6; 2009-2010 Captain); Katie Mullen (3; Liberty League Team)

Additions to the 2010 – 2011 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Isabella Comstock
  • Expected to play in the middle 3: Alexa Comstock; Caroline Moxley
  • Expected to play in the bottom 3: Victoria Scott
  • Expected to compete for spots in the starting lineup: Madeline Friedman; Jessie Hall; Ginny McDermott; Tyler Mitchell

Captain: Else Ross

Goal: Compete for the Walker Cup Championship

To read other team previews, please visit the 2010 – 2011 College Squash Preview Page.