HomeArticles2009-2010 Women’s All-Americans

2009-2010 Women’s All-Americans

Northampton, MA — The Women’s College Squash Association has announced its 2009-2010 First and Second All-American teams.

To be eligible for All-American status, a player must compete in the Individual Championships. Players who do not compete in Individuals can still receive a national ranking. Complete selection criteria can be found in the All-Americans section of the women’s by-laws.

Seniors Toby Eyre (Williams), Kristen Lange (Penn), Neha Kumar (Princeton), and Sydney Scott (Penn) all earned All-American status in each of their four years of intercollegiate play, a remarkable achievement. Alia Aziz (Yale), the Betty Richey Award winner, Logan Greer (Yale), Nayelly Hernandez (Trinity), Sarah Toomey (Yale), Nour Baghat (Trinity), Nirasha Gurgue (Harvard), Alisha Mashruwala (Harvard), Jackie Moss (Princeton), and June Tiong (Harvard) have all earned All-American honors in the past as well.

Harvard’s Laura Gemmell, the 2010 Individuals champion, and Trinity’s Pamela Hathway, the 2010 Individuals finalist, both earned All-American in their first season of intercollegiate play, as did fellow first-year players Julie Cerullo (Princeton), Nabilla Ariffin (Penn), and Pamela Chua (Stanford). Harvard senior co-captain Johanna Snyder also earned All-American status for the first time.

Harvard has the most players earning All-American status — five — while Princeton, Trinity, Penn, and Yale all have three All-Americans. Dartmouth, Stanford, and Williams all have one player earning the distinction.

Congratulations to the 2009-2010 All-Americans!

First Team (listed alphabetically)

  • Alia  Aziz (Yale University)
  • Julie Cerullo (Princeton University)
  • Toby Eyre (Williams College)
  • Laura  Gemmell (Harvard University)
  • Logan Greer (Yale University)
  • Pamela Hathway (Trinity College)
  • Nayelly  Hernandez (Trinity College)
  • Kristen Lange (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Sarah Toomey (Yale University)
  • Valeria Wiens (Dartmouth College)

Second Team (listed alphabetically)

  • Nabilla Ariffin (University of Penn)
  • Nour Bahgat (Trinity College)
  • Pamela Chua (Stanford University)
  • Nirasha  Gurgue (Harvard University)
  • Neha Kumar (Princeton University)
  • Alisha  Mashruwala (Harvard University)
  • Jackie Moss (Princeton University)
  • Sydney Scott (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Johanna Snyder (Harvard University)
  • June Tiong (Harvard University)