Mount Holyoke: 2009-2010 Women’s College Season Preview


mhcSouth Hadley, MA — For the past few seasons, Mount Holyoke has just missed finishing in the top ten.  This season, the Lyons, last season’s eleventh-ranked team,  will attempt to earn a top-ten finish; however, their quest will have challenges.  After all, Mount Holyoke graduated Pam Anckermann, last season’s Richey Award winner, and Menusha Hettiarachchi. The Lyons are looking to avenge their 5-4 loss to Dartmouth at last season’s Howe Cup.

This year’s squad will be led by Laurian Lue Yen, who begins her second season as captain.  In January, the Lyons are planning a trip to Lue Yen’s home country of Jamaica. Mount Holyoke returns nine  experienced players from last year’s lineup.  Tempest Brown, who did a post graduation year at Mercersburg  Academy, will join the team as a first year student. With six seniors on this year’s squad, Mount Holyoke looks to make big strides this season.

Mount Holyoke is seeking to earn its fourth consecutive Seven Sisters title this season, which would tie Vassar’s record.  It would be the Lyon’s fifth overall Seven Sisters title, which would be a record.

The Lyons will benefit from Mount Holyoke’s brand new fitnesss center, which opened in late September.

2008-2009 Season Recap

Mount Holyoke's Laurian Lue Yen
Mount Holyoke's Laurian Lue Yen

NATIONAL TEAM CHAMPIONSHIPS: 11th; 3rd in Kurtz Cup (B Division)

2009-2010 Season Preview

Returning Players from Team Championships: Vidushi Gurunada ’11 (2); Laura Robinson ’10 (3); Shara Robertson ’12 (4); Laurian Lue Yen ’10 (6); Paulina Rojek ’12 (7); Kasia Kolodziejczak ’10 (8); Lila Khan ’10 (9); Hilella Simpson ’10 (10); Michelle Zagardo ’10 (11)

Graduating Players from Team Championships: Pamela Anckermann (1; 2009 Richey Award winner); Menusha Hettiarachchi (5)

Additions for the 2009-2010 Roster:

  • Expected to compete for the 4 through 6 ladder positions: Tempest Bowden

Captain: Laurian Lue Yen

Team Goals: To maintain or improve on last year’s ranking

Key Matches: Bates, Dartmouth, and Brown

To read other team previews, please visit the 2009 – 2010 College Squash Preview Page.