HomeArticlesSubramaniam, Tarek Earn 2023 CSA Senior Awards

Subramaniam, Tarek Earn 2023 CSA Senior Awards

During the 2023 Senior Serve, College Squash Association’s (CSA) virtual award show, held on Wednesday evening, Cornell’s Sivasangari Subramaniam and Harvard’s Marwan Tarek earned CSA’s prestigious senior career awards, the Betty Richey Award presented by the Aziz Family and the Skillman Award presented by the Schiller Family Foundation, respectively.

2023 Betty Richey Award Presented by the Aziz Family

The Richey Award presented by the Aziz Family is given annually to the women’s college squash player who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of and devotion to the game, her strong sense of fairness, and her excellence of play and leadership.

(photo: Michael T. Bello)

Subramaniam is Cornell’s second Richey Award recipient, following Olga Puidgemont-Sola’s honor in 2002. Over her career, Subramaniam amassed an incredible 50-2 regular season record, reached three national individual championship finals, and won the Ramsay Cup (individual championship) as a junior. Her incredible talent was matched by her devotion to her goals and her team, as she fought to return to play this winter after suffering major injuries in an automobile accident last summer.

Once again this year, the Richey Award is presented by the Aziz Family, strong supporters of the College Squash Association and Yale Squash, who have a history of success and an eagerness to sustain and grown women’s college squash.

2023 Skillman Award Presented by the Schiller Family Foundation

The Skillman Award presented by the Schiller Family Foundation is given annually to a senior men’s squash player who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship during his entire college career while maintaining a high level of play.

(photo: Michael T. Bello)

Tarek’s impressive career record and outstanding fair play earned him the award, which is Harvard’s second Skillman Award in a row. Tarek contributed greatly to Harvard’s four consecutive national team championships and three Ivy League championships during his career, and he also captured the individual title (Pool Trophy) at the end of his sophomore season. His 56-4 career record speaks for itself, but his position as a 2-time team captain and shining example for his teammates also stands out in support of this honor.

For the final time, the Skillman Award will be presented by the Schiller Family Foundation in honor of Dr. Sheldon Schiller. Dr. Schiller believed that genuine sportsmanship and leadership were just as important in squash as athletic ability, and he lived those virtues when he played.

The other Betty Richey Award finalists were Alina Bushma of Drexel University and Andrea Toth of Princeton University. Matias Knudsen of Drexel and Omar El Torkey from University of Virginia were the other two Skillman Award finalists.