HomeArticles2017 NESCAC Women's College Squash All-Conference Team Announced

2017 NESCAC Women’s College Squash All-Conference Team Announced

Hadley, MA — At the end of the season, the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its 2016-2017 All-Conference Team.

Wesleyan University’s Laila Samy was named the NESCAC Player of the Year. She is the first non-Trinity player to capture Player of the Year honors. During the regular season, Samy went 18-1 in team play and helped the Cardinals to a season-ending national ranking of 21st. She also won the 1st consolation draw of the Ramsay Cup (A Division national individual championship) and was named to her third First Team All-American squad.

Vanessa Raj (Trinity College) was named the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She becomes the sixth Bantam player to win the Rookie of the Year honors. She went 17-1 during her inaugural campaign.

Middlebury head coach Mark Lewis was named Coach of the Year. This is the second time Middlebury has been honored with a NESCAC Women’s Coach of the Year award.

Player of the Year

  • Laila Samy (Wesleyan University)

Rookie of the Year

  • Vanessa Raj (Trinity College)

Coach of the Year

First Team All-Conference

Second Team All-Conference