HomeArticlesHarrow Sports College Squash Players of the 2017 Men's National Team Championship

Harrow Sports College Squash Players of the 2017 Men’s National Team Championship


Cambridge, MA — The 2017 Men’s College Squash Association National Team Championships had great team and individual performances. In this special edition of the Harrow Sports College Squash Player of the Week, we recognize a player from each division of the tournament. 

Potter Cup (A Division) – Michael Craig (Trinity College): In the Potter Cup (national championship) final between Trinity and Harvard, sophomore Michael Craig faced freshman Tim Brownell at the match at the #4 position. After losing the first game, Craig captured the final three games, including holding off Brownell’s comeback in the final game, to win the four-game match (4-11, 11-8, 11-4, and 11-9). The victory claimed the Potter Cup for the Bantams, their 16th overall.

Hoehn Cup (B Division) – Glenn Brickman (Dartmouth College): Dartmouth’s senior co-captain Glenn Brickman helped the Big Green claim their first Hoehn Cup since 2001. He went 3-0 at Team Championships, including a hard-fought four-game (11-9, 11-4, 8-11, and 13-11) victory against Princeton’s #7, Ben Leizman, in the Hoehn Cup final.

Summers Cup (C Division) – Wyant French (Middlebury College): Middlebury has been a staple in the Summers Cup. Senior co-captain Wyant French helped the Panthers secure their sixth Summers Cup in the past nine seasons. French went 2-1 at Team Championships, including a five-game victory over Mason Blake, Virginia’s top player (10-12, 11-6, 5-11, 12-10, and 11-2).

Conroy Cup (D Division) – Zach Roach (Wesleyan University): The finals of the Conroy Cup between Wesleyan and Hobart was incredibly close. Wesleyan clinched match with one match to go, to gain the Conroy Cup, 5-4. In the opening flight of matches, senior co-captain Zach Roach played a pivotal role in his team’s victory. At the match at the #3 position, Roach faced Hobart’s Terrance Rose. After dropping the first two games, Roach won the final three to earn the critical point for the Cardinals (6-11, 7-11, 11-9, 11-9, and 11-5).

Chaffee Cup (E Division) – Aaron Horwitz (Haverford College): As the sole senior in Haverford’s line-up, Aaron Horwitz can take special pride in the fact that the team broke the Fords’ single season win total this year. His three victories at Team Championships not only contributed to that accomplishment, but helped Haverford earn their first Chaffee Cup. In the final against Bucknell, Horwitz faced Nick Desrosier at the match at the #3 position, earning a four-game victory (10-12, 11-4, 11-3, and 11-3). Haverford defeated Bucknell, 5-4.

Serues Cup (F Division) – George Sternlicht (Richmond University): Seeded last in the Serues Cup, Richmond surprised many by advancing to the final against second seeded Fordham. George Sternlicht, Richmond’s #3, faced Fordham’s John Lennon. In the tight four-game match, Sternlicht prevailed (12-10, 13-11, 5-11, and 11-8) to help Richmond to a 6-3 team victory and the Serues Cup.

Hawthorn Cup (G Division) – Peter Haun (Northwestern University): Northwestern entered the Hawthorn Cup as the top seed and met second seed Colgate in the final. At the match at the top of the ladder, Northwestern’s Peter Haun met Colgate’s Matthew Swain. Haun won the four-game match (12-10, 5-11, 11-6, and 11-6), which helped the Wildcats win the Hawthorn Cup.

H Division – Russell Nelson (University of Minnesota): In a 5-4 final between Minnesota and North Carolina, the Gophers’ Russell Nelson faced North Carolina’s Sky Golann at the match at the #8 position. After dropping the first game, Nelson came back to capture the match in four games (7-11, 11-3, 11-2, and 11-7), assisting Minnesota in the team victory.