HomeArticlesAmherst: 2016 – 2017 Women's College Squash Season Preview

Amherst: 2016 – 2017 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Amherst College Amherst, MA — As the top-seed in the Walker Cup at the 2016 Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships, Amherst was looking for their third straight C Division title. Amherst was surprised with a 4-5 loss in the final by NESCAC rival Bates. This was the sole 5-4 match for Amherst last season. If they intend to move up the rankings and play for the Kurtz Cup (B Division), the squad will need to be prepared for close matches. Amherst returns five players from the starting line-up at last season’s Team Championships, and four first-year players are joining the squad. The good news for Amherst is that their top 3 players from last season are back. According to head coach Peter Robson, Stuart Crawford, the former Scottish national coach, will be joining the team as an assistant coach. Leading the team this season will be captains Mae Cromwell and Izzy Derber. Look for Amherst to be in the hunt for a position at the bottom of the Kurtz Cup seedings.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 11-6

Final Ranking: 18

Team Championships: 2nd in the Walker Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 0 of 1… Top 3 Win%: .510… Middle 3 Win%: .706… Lower 3 Win%: .706…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Peter Robson

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Rachael Ang (2019 – NESCAC First-Team); 2. Kimberley Krayacich (2018 – NESCAC Second-Team); 3. Haley McAtee (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Priya Sinha (2019); 9. Mae Cromwell (2018); 11. Izzy Derber (2017);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 4. Ericka Robertson (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 5. Taryn Clary (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; NESCAC All-Sportsmanship; CSA Scholar Athlete); 7. Khushy Aggarwal (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 8. Corri Johnson (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 10. Rebecca Pol (2016);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Jenni Bown (William Penn Charter, Philadelphia PA)
  • Katy Correia (The Potomac School, McLean VA)
  • Caroline Conway (Milton Academy, Milton MA)
  • Jenna Finkelstein (Greenwich Academy, Greewich CT)

Captains: Mae Cromwell and Izzy Derber

Team Goals: To move up to the Kurtz Cup Division

Key Matches: Bates, Brown, Williams, Hamilton, and Colby

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.


More CSA News