Bates: 2016 – 2017 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


Bates College Lewiston, ME — Last season, Bates captured the Summers Cup (C Division) at the Men’s National Team Championships. The Bobcats will look to return to the Hoehn Cup (B Division) this season. To do so, they will need to improve their performance in close matches. Last season, they went 0-4 in 5-4 matches. With the graduation of two-time Pool Trophy (individual championship) winner and four-time NESCAC Player of the Year Ahmed Abdel Khalek, the Bobcats will look to senior Ahmed Hatata as their anchor at the top of the ladder. Last season, Abdel Khalek and Hatata went undefeated in dual match play. Hatata is looking to become Bates’ second four-time All-American. Hatata and captain Spencer Burt will lead the team with nine of eleven players from last season’s Team Championship roster returning. With the addition of five talented freshmen, look for Bates’s roster to be extremely competitive. Helping the Bobcats on their quest for the Hoehn Cup will be new technology. “We installed a new video analysis system that will complement our scoreboards and live match results displays and allow us to watch, display, playback, record and live stream everything that happens on each of our courts, with audio,” explains head coach Pat Cosquer. If Bates can improve its record in close matches, look for the Bobcats to move up the rankings.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 15-7

Final Ranking: 17

Team Championships: 1st in the Summers Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 0 of 4… Top 3 Win%: .909… Middle 3 Win%: .576… Lower 3 Win%: .621…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Pat Cosquer ’97 (co-NESCAC Men’s Coach of the Year)

Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Ahmed Hatata (2017 – NESCAC First-Team; MCSA Second Team All-American); 3. Darrius Campbell (2017 – NESCAC Second-Team); 5. Anirudh Nambiar (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Coley Cannon (2019); 7. Carlos Ames (2017); 8. Spencer Burt (2017 – NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team); 9. Stefan Joseph (2017); 10. McLeod Abbott (2019); 11. John Cannon (2019);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Ahmed Abdel Khalek (2016 – NESCAC Player of the Year; NESCAC First-Team; MCSA First Team All-American; MCSA Pool Trophy Winner); 4. Caran Arora (2016);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Mahmoud Yousry (Brooks School)
  • Expected to play in the bottom 3: Graham Bonnell (Southport, CT); Garon Rothenberg (Brooklyn, NY); Benni McComish (Williamstown, MA); and David Quintero (Santa Barbara, CA)

Captain: Spencer Burt

Team Goals: To be the best team we can be, to enjoy the struggle together and to finish strong.

Key Matches: All NESCAC matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.