HomeArticlesHaverford Wins 2016 Women’s College Squash Chaffee Award

Haverford Wins 2016 Women’s College Squash Chaffee Award

Haverford CollegeHatfield, MA — Haverford College was named the winner of the 2016 Chaffee Award.

The award, which is named for former Williams coach Clarence C. Chaffee, has been presented  annually since 1987 to the coach whose team best demonstrates the qualities of sportsmanship, teamwork, character, and improvement. Coaches discuss with their teams which team they feel is deserving of this award. Coaches then vote on the award, with each team getting one vote.

The award was presented to Niki Clement, assistant coaches Jesse Lytle and Vasken Terzian, and captains Emily Berlin and Bethany Simmonds.

During the 2015 – 2016 season, Haverford went 6-14. The Fords played in the Epps Cup (D Division) at the Women’s National Team Championship and finished the year as the 32nd-ranked team in the nation.

This marked the second time Haverford has been recognized with the Chaffee Award.