2014 Women’s National Team Championships: B, C, D, and E Finals


Princeton, NJ — George Washington, Amherst, Virginia, and Haverford won their division finals at the 2014 Women’s National Team Championships.

B Division (Kurtz Cup): Things didn’t look promising for George Washington coming into the final flight of matches today. Top seeded Columbia was up 4-2, and the Colonials would need to win the last three matches on court. Columbia only needed one match to take the Kurtz Cup back to New York City. But George Washington had already pulled off a 5-4 upset over Brown in the semfinals, and the Kurtz Cup final started to go the Colonials’ way. They won at #1 and #4, and with the score tied 4-all, the match came down to the #7 contest.

C Division (Walker Cup): Amherst went out to a 2-1 lead in the first round of the Walker Cup final against Franklin & Marshall. The Jeffs notched two more wins in the next round, but the Diplomats stayed in it with another victory. The score going into the final round was Amherst 4, F&M 2. Needing only one more match to win, the Jeffs got that plus one more, taking the Walker Cup by a score of 6-3.

D Division (Epps Cup):  Virginia and Boston College weren’t supposed to be in the Epps Cup final. The Cavaliers were seeded fourth in the division; the Eagles were seeded sixth. After pulling off several upsets to reach the finals, the two teams made the most of their time in the spotlight. Tied 4-all, the match came down to the #4 contest, which went the distance: 2-all in games, 10-all in points. Virginia won the last two points, and with them, the Epps Cup. Last season Virginia reached the D final only to fall in a competitive match, making today’s dramatic win all the sweeter.

E Division: Haverford was the first team to win a division title at the 2014 Women’s National Team Championships. Playing Colgate in the E Division final, the Fords swept the first flight of matches. Haverford won the next two matches on court, clinching the E Division championship early. The final score was 9-0.This is Haverford’s second E Division title in a row; last season the Fords defeated Tufts in the championship match.