College Squash Hall of Fame Player Profile: Gail Ramsay


The College Squash Association’s Hall of Fame is located at the University of Pennsylvania. The CSA is complementing the Hall of Fame plaques with brief online synopses of Hall of Fame players, coaches, and friends.


  • Player: Gail Ramsay
  • Inducted: 1995, WCSA Hall of Fame
  • School: Pennsylvania State University, Class of 1980
  • Individual Championship: 1977, 1978, 1979, and 1980

Gail Ramsay was the first player, male or female, to capture four consecutive intercollegiate singles championships. Despite the fact that Penn State did not have a varsity squash team, she entered and won the titles from 1977 – 1980.

After college, Ramsay coached at the Heights Casino Club, Uptown Squash Club and NYU, while also playing on the professional circuit. By the end of her competitive career in 1990, she amassed fourteen national titles in singles, doubles, and mixed doubles. She was also a two-time member of the United States team, including the captain of the 1985 squad.

Ramsay was the women’s head squash coach at Williams College from 1988 – 1994. Since 1994 she has been the women’s coach at Princeton University. She has guided Princeton to National Team Championships in 1998, 1999, 2007, 2008, and 2009. Ramsay coached the winner of the individual championship four times (1997, 1999, 2000, and 2001). She has been the president of the WCSA on multiple occasions.

In 2002, the top draw of the Women’s College Squash Association Individual Championship, the Ramsay Cup, was renamed in her honor.