2012 Men’s College Squash National Team Championships: C, D, and G Division Champions


College Squash AssociationPrinceton, NJ and Philadelphia, PA — The C, D, and G Division finals were all played at 9 am this morning.

Summers Cup (C Division): What a difference a year makes. Last season George Washington narrowly lost the C Division finals to Bowdoin 4-5. This year, the Colonials reversed the score and pulled out a 5-4 win over the Polar Bears in the semifinals to play an upstart Colby squad for the Summers Cup, who had upset two higher ranked teams to earn a berth in the finals. Colby fought hard to continue their run into a third day, winning five-game matches from Ben York at #9, Steve Carroll at #7, and Will Hochman at #5. But the top of the GW line-up took control of the match, earning three-game wins from Islam El-Fiky at #1, Omar Sobhy at #2, and Jose Calderon at #4. Adam Pistel won in four at #3, and Larkin Brinkworth won in three at #6. The final score was 5-4 to George Washington.

Conroy Cup (D Division): D Division finalists¬†Hobart and Tufts kept the excitement alive until the last game. Tufts had won their regular season meeting 5-4, and today’s match was just as competitive. Tufts jumped to an early lead in the first round with wins from Henry Miller at #3 and Eli Borek at #9; Will Boyle put the Statesmen on the board with a win at #6. In the second round Hobart evened the score with wins from Daniel Pelaez at #2 and Kevin Kent at #5. Elliot Kardon kept the Jumbos in the match with a win at #8. The match came down to the third and final round. Zach Schweitzer won in three games at #1 for the Jumbos, and Edgardo Gonzalez won for Hobart at #4. At #7 Hobart’s Grant Bercari and Tufts’ Hugo Merritt battled back and forth, the Bercari coming out on top. A year earlier Hobart fell just short of winning the D Division title, making today’s 5-4 win even sweeter.

Hawthorn Cup (G Division): ¬†Charleston and Boston University played for the Hawthorn Cup today at the University of Pennsylvania. No matter the outcome, the match would result in a first: neither team had won a division at the Men’s National Team Championships before. In the first round, BU took the early lead with wins from Jonathan Chambers at #3 and Arush Sabherwal at #6. Charleston notched their first win thanks to Grace Baena at #9. Charleston’s depth showed in the second round as Samuel Rahe won at #8. BU continued to control the top of the ladder with wins at #5 from Lu Quan Tan and at #2 from Jacob Roscoe. In the final round Torey Broderson put one more win on the board for Charleston at #1, but the rest of the match belonged to the Terriers, who won at #7 and #4 by David Scott. BU took their first division title by a final score of 6-3.