2012 Men’s College Squash National Team Championships: B, E, F, and Emerging Teams Division Champions


College Squash AssociationPrinceton, NJ and Philadelphia, PA — Penn (Hoehn Cup), Boston College (Chaffee Cup), Haverford (Serues Cup), and Maryland (Emerging Teams) all won their divisions at the 2012 Men’s National Team Championships.

Hoehn Cup (B Division): Last season Penn made it to the finals of the Hoehn Cup, where they fell to Western Ontario. This season the Quakers had another shot at the B Division title again, and they took it. Facing Columbia, who had upset Navy and Williams to make it into the finals, Penn came out strong. The Quakers won at #3 from Daniel Judd, at #6 from Derek Chilvers, and #9 from Jack Maine, and they didn’t look back, eventually taking the match 8-1 with additional wins from Danny Greenberg at #2, Trevor McGuinness at #4, John Dudzik at #5, Justin Ang at #7, and Michael Mutscheller #8. Ramit Tandon posted Columbia’s lone win at #1, but the Lions still concluded the tournament with their best finish ever — and the Quakers are the 2012 B Division champions.

Chaffee Cup (E Division): The E Division championship match between Boston College and Bucknell came down to the final round of matches. In the first round, BC saw wins from Danny Gleason at #9 and Joshua Ko at #3. Bucknell posted their first win at #6 from Rodman Maier. The second round went 2-1 to BC again. Again the Eagles in the top and bottom matches — Joshua Rosenblat at #2 and Nicholas Gadsden at #8 — came away with wins, and Bucknell maintained control of the middle with a win from Griffin Snyder at #5. The pattern held true in the third and final round. BC clinched the match with wins from Milo Watanabe at #1 and Gordon Kilbourn at #7, and Henry Gadsden posted a final win for Bucknell at #4. BC won the 2012 Chaffee Cup by a final match score of 6-3.

Serues Cup (F Division): The F Division final featured fifth-seeded University of Virginia and second-seeded Haverford. The Fords started strong with a trio of wins in the first round from Zef Konst at #3, Robbie Thompson at #6, and David Chang at #9. Not to be outdone, Virginia posted two wins in the bottom three from Michael Bender at #8 and Robert Patterson at #7. The third Virginia win came at #1 from James Patteson. Haverford took the remaining matches, though they all went past three games. Notching wins for the Fords were Andrew McComas at #2, Christopher Tyson at #4, and Charlie Michele at #5. The final match score was Haverford 6, Virginia 3.

Emerging Teams Division: Maryland went undefeated in round robin play to win the 2012 Emerging Teams Division. The Terps defeated Duke 4-1, Minnesota 3-2, and Bard 3-2. Playing for Maryland were #1 Jakob Metz, #2 Abbad Malik, #3 Mark Rosato, #4 Francis Smith, and #5 Adib Chowdhury.

Congratulations to all the teams who competed in the 2012 Men’s National Team Championships!