Amherst: 2011 – 2012 Women’s College Squash Season Preview


Amherst, MA — Amherst will be the site of the 2011-2012 Individual Championships, and the Davenport Squash Courts have been upgraded with new maple floors and new scoreboards. However, the Jeffs aren’t content to wait until March for championship action; coach Peter Robson has the team aiming for the top of the B Division.

Amherst has lost a group of accomplished senior players: Hayley Milbourn, Allie Dalglish, Mimi Bell, and Caitlin Demkin, who together collected an impressive collection of NESCAC and CSA awards for their athletics, academics, and sportsmanship.

Lawrenceville’s Arielle Lehman and Chapin’s Martha Reiser will join a squad that Robson describes as having “great team chemistry.” Lehman and Reiser are expected to play in the top 6 and should have an impact right away.

2010-2011 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 16-8

Final Ranking: 14

Team Championships: 6th in Kurtz Cup (B Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Peter Robson

Returning Players from Team Championships: (2) Chandler Lusardi (NESCAC All-Academic Team); (4) Anne Piper (NESCAC All-Academic Team); (5) Katherine Savage; (6) Anna Scheidt (NESCAC All-Academic Team, CSA Scholar Athlete); (7) Evelyn Kramer (Second Team All-NESCAC); (9) Lena Rice (NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team); (11) Sarah Nyirjesy

Graduated/Non-returning players from 2010-2011 Team: (1) Hayley Milbourn (Second Team All-NESCAC); (3) Alexandra Dalglish (NESCAC All-Academic Team, CSA Scholar Athlete); (8) Mimi Bell (NESCAC All-Academic Team, CSA Scholar Athlete, Wetzel Award Winner); (10) Caitlin Demkin (NESCAC All-Academic Team, CSA Scholar Athlete)

Additions to the 2011-2012 roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 6: Arielle Lehman and Martha Reiser

Captains: Kate Savage, Anna Scheidt, and Megan Clower

Team Goals: To reach the top of the B Division

Key Matches: Williams, Brown, Bates, and Middlebury

To read other team previews, please visit the 2011-2012 College Squash Season Previews page.