HomeArticles2010-2011 Women's Squash All-Ivy League Team Announced

2010-2011 Women’s Squash All-Ivy League Team Announced

Princeton, NJ — In the spring, the 2010-2011 women’s All-Ivy League team was announced.

For the second season in a row, Harvard sophomore Laura Gemmell was named Player of the Year. Gemmell went undefeated in Ivy League play during the regular season, boasting a 6-0 Ivy record at number 1 for the Crimson. After going undefeated all season, Gemmell made it to the finals of the Ramsay Cup at the Individual Championships, which she won the year before. Gemmell is in elite company; only three other players have been named women’s Player of the Year multiple times.

Yale sophomore Millie Tomlinson was named Rookie of the Year. After dropping her first match of the season, Tomlinson went undefeated, capturing the women’s individual championship and helping the Bulldogs win the national and Ivy League titles.

While there are typically only ten players named to the All-Ivy Team, ties in voting led to twelve players earning the distinction. Gemmell, Tomlinson, Nabilla Ariffin (Penn), Logan Greer (Yale), Jaime Laird (Cornell), and Jackie Moss (Princeton) were all unanimous selections to the team.

Greer, who was the winner of the 2011 Richey Award, one of the CSA’s top individual honors, was the only player to have been named to the All Ivy squad four times. She was also the only player this year to be named to a fourth All-American Team.

Yale senior Sarah Toomey was named to her third All-Ivy team, while Gemmell, Moss, Julie Cerullo (Princeton), and Valeria Weins (Dartmouth) were named to their second All-Ivy teams. Tomlinson, Ariffin, Laird, Hannah Conant (Dartmouth), Rachael Goh (Penn), and Annie Madeira (Penn) made the team for the first time.

Congratulations to the 2011 All-Ivy Team!

Player of the Year
Laura Gemmell (Harvard)

Rookie of the Year
Millie Tomlinson (Yale)

2011 All-Ivy League Team
Nabilla Ariffin (Penn)
Julie Cerullo (Princeton)
Hannah Conant (Dartmouth)
Laura Gemmell (Harvard)
Rachel Goh (Penn)
Logan Greer (Yale)
Annie Madeira (Penn)
Jackie Moss (Princeton)
Jaime Laird (Cornell)
Millie Tomlinson (Yale)
Sarah Toomey (Yale)
Valeria Weins (Dartmouth)