HomeArticlesHaverford: 2010 - 2011 Women's College Squash Season Preview

Haverford: 2010 – 2011 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Haverford, PA — After a challenging 2009-2010 season, Haverford looks to make a fresh start under a new head coach.

The Fords’ lone win last season was a decisive one: they swept Drexel 9-0 in late November. Otherwise Haverford struggled to put wins on the board, and they were overmatched by a series of “B” and “C” Division teams during the regular season.

At the Women’s National Team Championships, the Fords were more evenly matched. They notched two wins apiece against Virginia and BC, and they had several matches go to five games or extra points.

This season Haverford will have the opportunity to play more “D” and “E” Division teams during the regular season. They’ll take on Wellesley, BC, Drexel, and Johns Hopkins, and those matches should give the players more opportunities for close competition as they continue to develop their skills. Since the Fords have lost their top three players to graduation, playing teams with which they are more evenly matched will also give the players time to get used to playing higher up on the ladder.

Niki Clement will be taking over as head coach for Damon Leedale-Brown, who led the Fords for just one season. A former All-American at Bowdoin, Clement is familiar with the challenges of balancing academics and athletics. “As a former Division III player myself, I understand the balance these athletes will need to strike between academics and athletics,” she told Haverford Athletics.  “I’m enthusiastic about each player’s potential for individual improvement and I aim to maintain an emphasis on character, integrity and personal achievement and know that these players will put in the work required for success on and off the court.”

2009-2010 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 1-8
Final Ranking: 32
Team Championships: 32nd Overall; 8th in Epps Cup (D Division)


Head Coach:
Niki Clement (Succeeds Damon Leedale-Brown)

Returning Players from Team Championships: Zoe Becker (8); Randee Johnson (9); Kira Jones (4); Kate Mundell (7); Katherine Pryor (5); Jenny Tong (6)

Graduates on Last Season’s Team Championships Roster:
Elle de Moll (2; 2009-2010 Captain); Sarah Gilarsky (1; 2009-2010 Captain); Katie Johnston-Davis (10); Laura Tetri (3)

Captains: Jenny Tong and Kira Jones

To read other team previews, please visit the 2010 – 2011 College Squash Preview Page.