HomeArticlesFemale Quartet Earns College Squash Hall of Fame Call

Female Quartet Earns College Squash Hall of Fame Call

The College Squash Association (CSA) is pleased to announce the College Squash Hall of Fame Class of 2022: Berkeley Belknap, Yale University Class of 1992; Jessica DiMauro, University of Pennsylvania Class of 1999; Diana Edge Dowling, Harvard University Class of 1988; and Kyla Grigg Workman, Harvard University Class of 2007.

CSA will honor the four former women’s players at the National Collegiate Women’s Team Championships on Saturday, February 18, 2023, at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. Appropriately, this recognition falls during the 50th anniversary of the Women’s Team Championship (Howe Cup) and on the exact 100th anniversary of the first ever intercollegiate team squash match.

“These four inductees were elite competitors and met the standard for consistency of excellence throughout their college squash careers,” said CSA Executive Director & League Commissioner David Poolman. “It is extremely special that we will induct these four outstanding women into the College Squash Hall of Fame 50 years after the formation of the Howe Cup, 50 years after Title IX was passed, and 100 years after the first ever team match.”

All four Class of 2022 honorees have an impressive statistic in common: each of them played their way into the Women’s Intercollegiate Individual Championship three times in their career, winning one title apiece.

Berkeley Belknap, Yale University ‘92
In an era when successful squash siblings ruled the game, Berkeley grabbed headlines for the Belknap family by qualifying for three national individual finals in her final three seasons at Yale. Her individual championship came as a junior in 1991 when she overcame Class of 2019 College Squash Hall of Famer Jordanna Fraiberg. Belknap was also a key contributor to Yale’s team success, especially in 1992 when the Elis won the Howe Cup (team national championship). For her college career, Belknap was a four-time First Team All-America selection and a four-time All-Ivy League honoree.

Jessica DiMauro, University of Pennsylvania ‘99
A recent inductee to the Penn Athletics Hall of Fame, DiMauro set the highest standards of excellence that Penn Women’s Squash had seen in its program history up to that point. She set the bar very high early in her career with an individual national championship in her freshman campaign in 1996. Impressively, DiMauro displayed unwavering consistency through the remainder of her career, reaching two more Ramsay Cup finals and losing out to the eventual champion in the semifinals as a senior. Like Hall of Fame Classmate Belknap, DiMauro was selected for the First Team All-America and First Team All-Ivy League teams four times, finishing with an outstanding 73-9 record for her college career.

Diana Edge Dowling, Harvard University ‘88
Another member of the four-time All-Ivy League & All-American club, Dowling (nee Edge) was prolific in both the individual and team competitions. In contrast with Hall of Fame Classmate DiMauro, Dowling claimed her individual championship in her final act as a college player, finally getting the better of college squash legend and now fellow Hall of Famer Demer Holleran in her senior year. Dowling also led her team to incredible success in the Howe Cup, winning the championship in three of her four years on campus. Notably, along with her individual title, Dowling graduated as the 1988 recipient of the Betty Richey Award, which celebrates the player’s devotion, fairness, leadership, and excellence.

Kyla Grigg Workman, Harvard University ‘07
Grigg only played three years of college squash at Harvard, but she made the best of her opportunities to compete after transferring from university in Canada. She was thwarted in her first two attempts to reach the pinnacle of the women’s individual event, but the third time was the charm in 2007 against eventual three-time finalist Kristen Lange of Penn. It capped off an undefeated senior season for Grigg. Her three trips to the Ramsay Cup finals earned her three First Team All-America honors, three All-Ivy League selections, and an Ivy League Player of the Year award in 2007.

More information regarding the induction ceremonies will be available in the coming weeks. Please check back on the website and follow the CSA on Twitter (@CollegeSquash), Instagram (@college_squash), and Facebook (@CollegeSquash) for future announcements.

For more information about the College Squash Hall of Fame, please visit https://csasquash.com/about/hall-of-fame. If you would like to make a donation in honor of one of the inductees, please do so here.