HomeArticles2017 Liberty League Men's College Squash Awards Announced

2017 Liberty League Men’s College Squash Awards Announced

Liberty LeagueTroy, NY — In March, the Liberty League announced its men’s college squash award winners.

University of Rocehster senior Ryosei Kobayashi capped his LIberty League career by being named Player of the Year. He was also recognized with the Men’s College Squash Association’s Skillman Award. Kobayashi become the first Rochester player since 2012 to receive the honor.

For the eighth season in a row, a player from St. Lawrence was named Rookie of the Year. This season the honor went to Mohamed El Gawarhy. El Gawarhy was named a First Team All-American. In the Liberty League tournament, he clinched the team match against Rochester, helping St. Lawrence to their fourth consecutive Liberty League title.

Until this season, Bard had never been presented with a Liberty League squash award. The Coaching Staff of the Year went to Bard College and head coach Craig Thorpe-Clark and assistant coach David Lindholm. In his three seasons leading Bard, Thorpe-Clark has transformed the program. Bard finished the 2016 – 2017 campaign with a 10-12 record and were ranked 40th in the nation, a far cry from the 0-17 season prior to his arrival in  Annandale-on-Hudson, NY.

Rochester and St. Lawerence each placed four players on the All-League team. Hobart earned the remaining position.

Player of the Year

  • Ryosei Kobayashi (University of Rochester)

Rookie of the Year

  • Mohamed El Gawarhy (St. Lawrence University)

Coaching Staff of the Year

2017 All-League Team

2016 Honorable Mention:

Please note that the Liberty League does not have a women’s squash division and does not name a women’s college squash all-conference team.