HomeArticlesCoaching Changes at Fordham, Conn College, and Tufts

Coaching Changes at Fordham, Conn College, and Tufts

Hatfield, MA — Fordham University, Connecticut College, and Tufts University will be led by new coaches this coming season.

After seven years leading Fordham University, head coach Bryan Patterson has resigned. Fordham made the announcement last week. Patterson was only the second head coach in Fordham history. He took over for the legendary Bob Hawthorn, who was inducted into the College Squash Association Hall in 2005. During his Fordham career, Patterson led the Rams 60-74 record, including winning seasons in 2013-14, 2014-15, and 2016-17.  In post-season play, Patterson helped the Rams to two Chaffee Cup (E Division) appearances, four Serues Cup (F Division) appearance, and one Hawthorn Cup (G Division) appearance.

At Connecticut College, women’s coach Ted Childs’and men’s coach Barry Ward’s tenures with the Camels have ended. Childs led Conn College since the 2013-2014 season. In his four years at the helm, Childs led the Camels to a 30-69 record, including four appearance in the Epps Cup (D Division) at the Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships. Over the past three years, Childs served on the Executive Committee of the Women’s College Squash Association as the Awards Chair.

After serving as an assistant coach with Conn College, Barry Ward took over as head coach in 2013. He guided the Camels to a 36-58 record, including two seasons with twelve or more victories. Connecticut College played in three Conroy Cups (D Division) and one Chaffee Cup (E Division) at the Men’s College Squash Association National Team Championship under Ward.

Joe McManus led the Tufts men and women for five seasons and rebuilt the Jumbos’ programs. He led the women to three winning seasons, including 17 wins this past season. Overall, he was 56-53 with the Tufts women. With the women, he had one E Division appearance, two Epps Cup (D Division) appearances, and two Walker Cup (C Division) appearances. The Jumbos captured the 2014-2015 Epps Cup, the sole women’s divisional title in the university’s history. McManus guided the Tufts men to a 48-66 record, including two consecutive 14-win seasons. With the men, McManus had three Conroy Cup (D Division) appearances and two Chaffee Cup (E Division) appearances, including capturing the Chaffee Cup at the conclusion of the 2015-2016 season.

Fordham, Conn College, and Tufts are expected to conduct searches for new head coaches.