HomeArticles2017 Women's National Team Championships: B and C Finals

2017 Women’s National Team Championships: B and C Finals

Princeton, NJ — Dartmouth and Amherst won their divisions at the 2017 Women’s National Team Championships.

B Division (Kurtz Cup): The 2017 Kurtz Cup final was a rematch of the 2016 final. A year ago, Dartmouth had defeated Drexel 5-4 to win the cup named for former Big Green coach Aggie Bixler Kurtz. Dartmouth and Drexel had met during the regular season, and the outcome was once again decided by a single individual match, with Dartmouth winning 5-4 in Philadelphia. Today’s rematch didn’t look like it would happen: while Dartmouth came into the tournament seeded first in the division, Drexel was seeded sixth. The Dragons had to pull off two 5-4 upsets over Williams and Brown to reach the final. Could they go three for three? The two teams were tied 3-all through the first two shifts of matches, with Dartmouth winning at the bottom of the order and Drexel finding wins near the top. Dartmouth edged up the score to 4-3, and a come-from-behind five-game win at number 4 gave Dartmouth the 5-4 win, their third Kurtz Cup.

C Division (Walker Cup): Amherst has reached the Walked Cup final four years in a row, winning in 2014 and 2015. This year, Amherst came into the tournament as the number 2 seed in the division, and they reached the final with wins over St. Lawrence and William Smith. Franklin & Marshall, the other C Division finalist, was the top seed in the division, advancing with wins over Wesleyan and Tufts. F&M and Amherst had met during the regular season, when the Diplomats took a 5-4 win in Amherst. In today’s final, the two teams were tied 3-all after six matches. The matches in the middle of the order were particularly close, but Amherst came out on the winning side of three five-gamers to take the win. The final score was Amherst 5, F&M 4. With today’s victory, Amherst has won a total of four Walker Cups.