2017 Women’s National Team Championships: Day 2 Evening Report


Princeton, NJ — The final match-ups for each division are now set.

A Division (Howe Cup): Harvard and Penn will play for the Howe Cup tomorrow.

B Division (Kurtz Cup): A year ago, Drexel and Brown met in the Kurtz Cup semifinals. Drexel, then the second seed in the division, advanced to the final with a 5-4 win over the Bears, falling in the next round to division winners Dartmouth. This year, Brown came into the tournament as the second seed in the Kurtz Cup, and Drexel reached the semifinals thanks to an upset win over Williams in the first round. The 2017 Drexel-Brown semifinal came down to the final match on court, and Drexel came away with the 5-4 upset victory. Defending Kurtz Cup champions Dartmouth faced George Washington in the other semifinal, the first meeting between the two teams this season. Dartmouth earned a chance to bring the B Division title back to New Hampshire with a 6-3 win over the Colonials.

In the consolation semifinals, Virginia defeated Middlebury 6-3, and Williams defeated Bates 5-4.

Dartmouth and Drexel/Brown will play for the Kurtz Cup at 12:15 pm tomorrow at Princeton.

C Division (Walker Cup): F&M and Amherst will play for the Walker Cup tomorrow.

D Division (Epps Cup): Colby and Hamilton will play for the Epps Cup tomorrow.

E Division: Round robin play has concluded for the E Division. With the final pairs of matches complete, Georgetown and Haverford will play for the E Division title tomorrow. Georgetown dropped just a single match in round robin playing, winning 8-1 over Smith and sweeping Rochester and Fordham. Haverford’s closest match was a 6-3 win over Washington University in St. Louis; the Fords also swept Colgate. Smith’s wins over Rochester and Fordham set the Pioneers up for the third-place match with Wash U, who defeated Colgate. Rochester and Colgate will play off for fifth in the division; Rochester had a win over Fordham.

The E Division final between Georgetown and Haverford is scheduled for 10:30 am tomorrow at Princeton.