HomeArticlesWesleyan: 2016 – 2017 Women's College Squash Season Preview

Wesleyan: 2016 – 2017 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Wesleyan University Middletown, CT — Last season’s Epps Cup (D Division) champions at the Women’s College Squash National Team Championships, Wesleyan is focused on returning to the Walker Cup (C Division). According to head coach Shona Kerr, “We are going to work hard to make the C Division and be competitive.” The Cardinals know that matches against top-25 teams, especially NESCAC opponents, will be key to their success. Last season, Wesleyan’s ladder was strongest at the top. Number one player Laila Samy made it to the semifinals of the Ramsay Cup (individual championship). For Wesleyan to make the jump to the Walker Cup, the lower third of its ladder needs to step up. Last year, the lower 3 only had a .381 win percentage. For years, Wesleyan has utilized video review on select courts. This season, additional cameras have been installed to further enhance that process. The school has also added additional fitness equipment to the Rosenbaum Squash Center. The Cardinals are planning a trip to New York City to watch the Tournament of Champions during the second semester.  Kerr adds that Wesleyan is “bright eyed and eager to train together. It is a highly engaged and supportive group that can achieve their goals.” If Wesleyan can get more wins from the lower part of its ladder, watch for the Cardinals to return to the Walker Cup.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 9-12

Final Ranking: 25

Team Championships: 1st in the Epps Cup (D Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 3 of 5… Top 3 Win%: .571… Middle 3 Win%: .403… Lower 3 Win%: .381…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Shona Kerr

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Laila Samy (2018 – NESCAC First-Team; First Team All-American); 4. Tatum Leclair (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic; NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 5. Abigail Smith (2017); 6. Alexandra Imperiale (2019); 7. Annie Ferreira (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 8. Alessandra Lamipetti (2019); 11. Anna Knes (2019);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Liza Bayless (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 3. Bridget Doherty (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 9. Ellen Paik (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic); 10. Tessa Hill (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Josie Russ
  • Sofie Melian-Morse
  • Nina Premutico
  • Sherly Francios

Captains: Abigail Smith and Annie Ferreira

Team Goals: To compete for the Walker Cup

Key Matches: NESCAC matches and top-25 opponents

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.