HomeArticlesWilliams: 2015 – 2016 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Williams: 2015 – 2016 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Williams CollegeWilliamstown, MA — With four players graduating in 2015, Williams needs to rebuild this season. Most schools only have a handful of players joining their squads, but head coach Zafi Levy is expecting nine new players to join his program. Tri-captains Galen Squiers, Varun Sharma, and Michael Petrick will be key to helping corral the young Ephs. Last season, Williams was recognized by the College Squash Association with the Sloane Award for team sportsmanship. The team also captured their 15th consecutive Little Three title. The team performed well in 5-4 matches in 2014 – 2015, winning 3 of 4; however, with the close competition amongst Hoehn Cup (B Division) teams, the Ephs realize that they will need to incorporate their new players and train hard for the upcoming season. One of team’s goal is to stay injury free. With their heavy match schedule planned for January, the Ephs are focused. If Williams can incorporate their new players and stay healthy, look for the Ephs to be in the mix for a position in the top half of the Hoehn Cup.

2014-2015 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 13-11

Final Ranking: 15

Team Championships: 7th in the Hoehn Cup (B Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 3 of 4… Top 3 Win %: 0.4306… Middle 3 Win %: 0.5278… Lower 3 Win %: 0.493


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Zafi Levy (Sloane Award; Little Three Championship)

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Jamie Ruggiro (2017 – First Team All-NESCAC); 5. Galen Squires (2016); 6. John Shuck (2017); 7. Michael Petrick (2016); 8. Jamie Havren (2018); 10. Varun Sharma (2016); 11. Mason Elizandro (2018)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2014-2015 Team Championships: 2. Kevin Chen (2015 – First Team All-NESCAC, NESCAC All-Academic, DIII Individual Champion – A Draw); 3. Chris Willkinson (2015 – Second Team All-NESCAC, NESCAC All-Academic); 4. Kai Graham (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 9. Nick Greaves Tunnell (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship)

Additions to the 2015-2016 Roster: Patrick Smith (2019), George Clark (2019), Oscar Merino (2019), David Pincus (2019), John Fitzgerald (2019), Anand Butler (2019), Will Ruggiero (2019), Neel Jain (2019), Rohan Parajpe (2017)

Captains: Galen Squiers, Varun Sharma, and Michael Petrick

Team Goals: Stay injury free, develop our young players, and above all have fun.

Key Matches: NESCAC Matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2015-2016 College Squash Season Previews page.