Women’s College Squash Individual Championships: 2015 Ramsay Cup Finals (Video)


Princeton, NJ — The Women’s College Squash Association Individual Championships concluded with the Ramsay Cup (A Division) final.

For the third consecutive season, Amanda Sobhy (Harvard), the 2012, 2013, and 2014 Ramsay Cup champion, faced second-seeded Kanzy El Defrawy (Trinity).

History was in the air for the final. Amanda Sobhy, who had lost only a single game in college, was going for her fourth individual title. This would tie Gail Ramsay, who captured four individual titles (1977 – 1980) as a student at Penn State.

This marked the ninth college meeting between Sobhy and El Defrawy. In their first meeting, El Defrawy won a single game, the only game Sobhy had lost in college.

El Defrawy was motivated. She charged to a first game victory, which put the crowd on edge. Sobhy, the 2015 Richey Award winner, recovered and won the next three games to earn the title (9-11, 11-6, 11-5, and 11-5).

In the coming days, CollegeSquashAssociation.com will have video from the Men’s College Squash Association Individual Championships (Pool Trophy) final.

Below is video of the match.

Game 1:

Game 2:

Game 3:

Game 4: