HomeArticlesCollege Squash Players in the Women's World Team Squash Championships

College Squash Players in the Women’s World Team Squash Championships

2014WWTSCNiagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario — On December 1st, the World Squash Federation Women’s World Team Squash Championships will begin. The event is being held in Canada at the White Oak Resort and Spa.

There will be teams of four players each representing twenty countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Colombia, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, United States of America, and Wales.

The event, which is held every other year, will feature the top 10 players in the world. For college squash fans, there will be several current College Squash Association players in the field:

  • Anaka Alankamony (University of Pennsylvania, 2017) – representing India
  • Breanne Flynn (George Washington University, 2017) – representing Ireland
  • Danielle Letourneau (Cornell University, 2015) – representing Canada
  • Anna Porras (George Washington University, 2016) – representing Colombia
  • Amanda Sobhy (Harvard University, 2015) – representing the United States

In addition, there will be several college squash alums in the field:

This decorated group of current and former CSA players includes six All-Americans. In addition, during their senior seasons, Anckermann and Peláez won the Richey Award, which is given annually to the women’s college squash player who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of and devotion to the game, her strong sense of fairness, and her excellence of play and leadership.

Play runs through December 6th. Be sure to follow the CSA players as the tournament progresses.