HomeArticles2011 NESCAC Men's All-Conference Squash Team

2011 NESCAC Men’s All-Conference Squash Team

Hadley, MA — In March, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) announced its 2010-2011 All-Conference squash team.

Trinity senior Randy Lim was named the 2011 Player of the Year. A four-time All-American, Lim had the finest season of his intercollegiate career, dropping only one match in team play as the Bantams won their fifth consecutive NESCAC championship and thirteenth consecutive national title.

First-year player John Steele of Wesleyan was selected as the 2011 Rookie of the Year. Playing number 1 for the Cardinals, Steele finished the season with a 19-6 record, the most individual wins for a Wesleyan player in over twelve years. Steele was also named a Harrow Sports College Squash Player of the Week in January.

Steele was the only Wesleyan player to earn First-Team All-Conference honors, but Lim was joined by fellow Trinity senior Parth Sharma and teammate Vikram Malhotra. The other players receiving First-Team honors were William Katz (Bates), Harry Smith (Colby), Valentin Quan (Middlebury), Alex Gross (Tufts), Will Gruner (Williams), and Will Morris (Williams). Aside from Steele, who is a freshman, all of the other players on the First Team had garnered All-Conference honors in the past. Gross, a senior, had been named to the First Team in each of the last three seasons.

Wesleyan head coach Shona Kerr was named 2011 Coach of the Year. The Cardinals came away from the season with their best record in ten seasons, playing a challenging schedule. Wesleyan was 20th in the 2010-2011 final national rankings, the program’s best result since the 2003-2004 season. Kerr also concluded her third and final year as the Women’s College Squash Association president.

Congratulations to all who earned NESCAC All-Conference honors!

Player of the Year
Randy Lim (Trinity)

Rookie of the Year
John Steele (Wesleyan)

Coach of the Year
Shona Kerr (Wesleyan)

First Team
Alex Gross (Tufts)
Will Gruner (Williams)
William Katz (Bates)
Randy Lim (Trinity)
Vikram Malholtra (Trinity)
Will Morris (Williams)
Valentin Quan (Middlebury)
Parth Sharma (Trinity)
Harry Smith (Colby)
John Steele (Wesleyan)

Second Team
Martin Bawden (Hamilton)
Andrew Bernard (Bowdoin)
Chris Binnie (Trinity)
Stephan Danyluk (Bowdoin)
Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez (Trinity)
Jay Dolan (Middlebury)
Caleb Garza (Connecticut College)
Andrew Kriete (Amherst)
Rahul Madan-Mohan (Bowdoin)
Andres Vargas (Trinity)