Barnaby Award

The Barnaby Award is given annually to the men’s team showing the most improvement from the previous season. More information about the selection process can be found at Awards Criteria.

The award is named for John M. “Jack” Barnaby, who played and then worked as an assistant coach under Harry Cowles at Harvard. The Crimson never lost an intercollegiate match during Cowles’s tenure, but medical issues forced the legendary coach to retire during the 1936-1937 season. Barnaby stepped in as the interim head coach, to disastrous results: Harvard lost its first intercollegiate match ever—to Yale.

For the next twelve years, the Harvard team, which had been so dominant for so long, struggled. But Barnaby, a devotee of the game and an enthusiastic teacher, persisted. His 1951 team won the national title, a feat they would repeat fifteen more times while he was head coach. By the time he retired in 1976, Barnaby had compiled a 355-95 lifetime record. His team capped his final season with a national title, going undefeated.

In 1979 Barnaby returned to coach the Harvard women, guiding them to a 28-4 record over three seasons. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000 and was inducted into the Men’s College Squash Hall of Fame in 1990, the Women’s College Squash Hall of Fame in 1997, and the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame in 2001.


  • 1983: University of Rochester
  • 1984: United States Naval Academy
  • 1985: Franklin & Marshall College
  • 1986: University of Pennsylvania
  • 1987: Vassar College
  • 1988: Cornell University
  • 1989: Colby College
  • 1990: Vassar College
  • 1991: United States Naval Academy
  • 1992: Amherst College
  • 1993: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • 1994: Hobart College
  • 1995: Colby College
  • 1996: Wesleyan University
  • 1997: Denison University
  • 1998: Colby College
  • 1999: Colgate University
  • 2000: Cornell University
  • 2001: Cal-Berkeley and Stanford University
  • 2002: Hamilton College
  • 2003: George Washington University
  • 2004: Connecticut College (Bill McNalley)
  • 2005: Northwestern University (Mark Johnson)
  • 2006: Williams College (Zafi Levy)
  • 2007: University of Rochester (Martin Heath)
  • 2008: University of Rochester (Martin Heath)
  • 2009: Cornell University (Mark Devoy)
  • 2010: Yale University (Dave Talbott)
  • 2011: Columbia University (Jacques Swanepoel)
  • 2012: Columbia University (Jacques Swanepoel)
  • 2013: Haverford College (Niki Clement)
  • 2014: Drexel University (John White)
  • 2015: Columbia University (Jacques Swanepoel)
  • 2016: Dickinson College (Chris Sachvie)
  • 2017: University of Western Ontario (Derek Moore)