HomeArticlesFranklin & Marshall and Williams Win the 2015 Men’s College Squash Sloane...

Franklin & Marshall and Williams Win the 2015 Men’s College Squash Sloane Award for Team Sportsmanship

fm-williamsHartford, CT — Franklin & Marshall College and Williams College won the 2015 Sloane Award for Team Sportsmanship.

Since 1981, the Men’s College Squash Association has given an award to recognize the team that best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season. The award was renamed in honor of former Williams and Haverford coach Sean Sloane in 2005; Sloane’s squad at Williams won the first team sportsmanship award in 1981.

Franklin & Marshall and Williams were recognized by their peers for their outstanding sportsmanship. Each year, coaches discuss with their teams which team they feel is deserving of this award. Coaches then vote on the award at the National Team Championships, with each team getting one vote. This year, the awards were presented on the final day of the Men’s National Team Championships, which were hosted by Trinity College.

Franklin & Marshall finished the season with a 13-9 record. The Diplomats went 0-3 at the 2015 Men’s National Team Championships and finished the season ranked 8th in the nation.

Williams went 14-11 on the season. At the 2015 Men’s National Team Championships, the Ephs defeated Navy, 5-4, on the final day of the tournament to finish the season ranked 15th in the nation.

Franklin & Marshall is led by head coach Gavin Jones and associate head coach Ron Epps. Brian Henry and Alex Arjoon were the 2014-2015 captains.

Williams is led by head coach Zafi Levy and assistant coach Blair Dils. Nick Greaves-Tunnell and Chris Willkinson were the 2014-2015 captains.

This is the first time Franklin & Marshall has been presented with the Sloane Award. Williams previously won the Sloane Award at the conclusion of the 1980 – 1981, 1983 – 1984, and 2006 – 2007 seasons. This is the second time in college squash history that the Sloane Award has been awarded to two teams in one season.