HomeArticlesTrinity: 2014 – 2015 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Trinity: 2014 – 2015 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Trinity CollegeHartford, CT — For Trinity, the 2013 – 2014 season was nearly perfect. Underdogs going in to the National Championship final against undefeated Harvard, the Bantams were tied 4-4 with the Crimson going into the final match. First year player Anna Kimberley sealed the title with a win at the number four position. How could life get any better for Trinity? The Bantams do not want to rest on their laurels; they want to repeat at champions. After their championship in 2001 – 2002, Trinity won a second title the following season, so this would not be unheard of. The squad has three incoming players with a lot of experience, which will be needed to replace the Bantams’ three graduates, including Catalina Pelaez, the 2014 Richey Award winner. In September, a new NUSEA program debuted in Hartford, Capital Squash. According to head coach Wendy Bartlett, the “team is excited to be coaches and mentors to the new students!” The challengers in the Howe Cup (A Division) will once again be extremely competitive. With Harvard hosting the national final in February, Trinity may be the underdog once again. Yet the Bantams are ready for the challenge.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 14-1

Final Ranking: 1

Team Championships: 1st in the Howe Cup (A Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 2 of 3… Position with the Most Wins: #2s and 4s had 15 Wins.


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Wendy Bartlett

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Kanzy El DeFrawy (2016 – CSA First Team All-American, NESCAC Player of the Year, First Team All-NESCAC); 4. Anna Kimberley (2017 – CSA Second Team All-American, NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Second Team All-NESCAC); 5. Ashley Tidman (2015 – Second Team All-NESCAC); 6. Natalie Babjukova (2015 – Second Team All-NESCAC); 7. Sachika Balvani (2016 – NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 9. Chanel Erasmus (2015); 10. Alexia Echeverria (2017); 11. Katiria Sanchez (2016)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Catalina Pelaez (2014 – Richey Award, CSA First Team All-American, First Team All-NESCAC); 3. Wee Nee Low (2014 – First Team All-NESCAC); 8. Jennifer Pelletier (2014)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster:

  • Salma El deFrawy (Lycce Francaudu Caire – Cairo, Egypt)
  • Karolina Holinkova (Grammar School – Krnov, Czech Repbublic)
  • Jillian Davey (Hall High School -West Hartford, CT)

Captains: Natalie Babjukova and Ashley Tidman

Team Goals: Repeat as  the National Team Championships

Key Matches: Harvard, Yale, Penn, Princeton, Cornell, Stanford and Dartmouth

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.