2014 College Squash Individual Championships: Holleran, Molloy, and Consolation Finals


College Squash AssociationPhiladelphia, PA — Shiyuan Mao of Yale and Rishi Jalan of Cornell won the B Division finals.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): Shiyuan Mao of Yale and Leslie Gill of Penn played for the Holleran Cup and the B Division title. Gill won a close first match in tiebreakers, 12-10, but then Mao turned it on. She won next three games 11-5, 11-6, 11-6, taking the Holleran Cup in four.

Sarah Domenick of Brown won the first round consolation final in four games against Franklin & Marshall’s Emily Caldwell.

In the second round consolation final, Tara Harrington of Princeton outlasted Columbia’s Colette Sultana in five close games.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): Cornell’s Rishi Jalan and Drexel’s Justin Singh played a marathon first game in the Molloy Cup final. Jalan won the first 16-14. Singh won the next game 11-9, but Jalan had the upper hand in the next two games. He won the third 11-9 and the fourth 11-8 to claim the Molloy Cup. 

In the first round consolation final, Brian Henry of Franklin & Marshall defeated Max McCafferty of New York University in three games.

Trinity’s Affeeq Ismail defeated Penn’s George Lemmon in three games in the second round consolation final

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): Cornell’s Jesse Pacheco won the first round consolation final by default over Yale’s Shihui Mao, the older sister of Shiyuan Mao.

Yan Xin Tan of Penn defeated teammate Michelle Wong in the four games to win the second round consolation final.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): Ahmed Hatata of Bates defeated Mauricio Sedano of Franklin & Marshall in four games to win the first round consolation final.

Ryosei Kobayashi of Rochester won the second round consolation final by default over Brandon McLaughlin of Harvard.