HomeArticlesBowdoin College and Stanford University Win 2013 Men's College Squash Sloane Award...

Bowdoin College and Stanford University Win 2013 Men’s College Squash Sloane Award for Team Sportsmanship

stanford-bowdoinNew Haven, CT — Bowdoin College and Stanford University won the 2013 Sloane Award for Team Sportsmanship.

Since 1981, the Men’s College Squash Association has given an award to recognize the team that best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season. The award was renamed in honor of former Williams and Haverford coach Sean Sloane in 2005; Sloane’s squad at Williams won the first team sportsmanship award in 1981.

Bowdoin and Stanford were recognized by their peers for their outstanding sportsmanship. Each year, coaches discuss with their teams which team they feel is deserving of this award. Coaches then vote on the award at the National Team Championships, with each team getting one vote. This year, the awards were presented on the final day of the Men’s National Team Championships, which were hosted by Yale University.

Bowdoin finished the season with a 13-11 record. The Polar Bears went 2 and 1 at the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships and finished the season ranked 20th in the nation.

Stanford went 10 and 8 on the season. At the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships, the Cardinal defeated Colby 5-4 in the finals of the Conroy Cup to win the D Division. Stanford’s final ranking of 25th made them the top-ranked club team in the nation.

Bowdoin is led by head coach Tomas Fortson and assistant coaches John Moncure and Charlie Butt. Stephan Danyluk and Andrew Hilboldt were the 2012-2013 captains.

Stanford is led by head coach Mark Talbott and assistant coach Richard Elliott. Paul Lee and Mark Weiland were the 2012-2013 captains.

This is the first time either Bowdoin or Stanford has won the Sloane Award. This is also the first time in college squash history that the Sloane Award has been awarded to two teams in one season.